In Alabama, the police can pull you over for suspicion of DUI and arrest you even if they haven’t given you a breathalyzer or blood test. Their belief that you are driving while impaired is enough to justify arresting you.
First-time offenders face some stiff penalties if convicted. They may end up serving a year or less in jail. They will be fined $600, their license will be suspended for 90 days, and they will be assigned to a mandatory treatment program. They may also have to pay a fee to get their license back when their suspension is done.
Some surprising things to know about DUI
There are some surprising laws regarding DUI that most people don’t know. Some of these are as follows:
- DUI convictions cannot be expunged in Alabama. The conviction will be listed on your record permanently. This may interfere with your ability to be hired for jobs that involve driving, such as delivering food, driving for UPS or driving a school bus.
- A DUI conviction can make it difficult for you to adopt a child. Thorough background checks are done when couples intend to adopt. A DUI, when combined with other factors, could cost you the adoption, especially if you had a child in your car at the time of the DUI.
- Underage drinkers who are convicted of DUI may lose their college scholarship.
- DUI doesn’t just refer to operating a car. You can be convicted for operating a boat, using a Segway, riding a horse, operating a tractor or lawn mower or riding a bicycle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
If you have been charged with DUI, contact an experienced legal guide as soon as possible.