Prepared to Practice

Prepared To Practice
  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. DUI
  4.  » What happens to your driver’s license after a DUI charge?

What happens to your driver’s license after a DUI charge?

On Behalf of | Dec 23, 2022 | DUI

Many people worry first about jail time after an arrest because a police officer suspected them of a driving under the influence (DUI) infraction. They don’t want to end up separated from their families or potentially losing their jobs just because of a traffic stop. A first offense could sometimes mean as long as a year in state custody, and those with prior DUI charges could sometimes face as long as 10 years in prison.

It’s only after they address the likely criminal consequences of their charges that they start to think about the secondary issues a DUI causes. For example, it is standard for those who plead guilty to a DUI or who get convicted by the criminal courts to lose their driver’s license.

What will happen to your driving privileges after a DUI arrest?

License suspension is standard in impaired driving cases

It is reasonable to impose a license penalty related to a driving offense, and that is exactly what judges do after finding someone guilty of a drunk driving charge in Alabama. If this is your first DUI charge, then you could lose your license for up to 90 days.

A judge could also order you to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle. You will have to pay to install and maintain the testing unit, and you will have to perform a breath test every time you start your vehicle. If you drive a vehicle without an IID installed, you could face criminal penalties.

For a second DUI charge, the potential driver’s license suspension increases to a full year, followed by up to two, possibly even four years of having an IID required. A third offense will cost someone their driving privileges for three years, followed by another three years with an IID in their vehicle.

Drivers can go to court to keep their license

Drivers facing DUI charges in the potential loss of their privileges have multiple options under Alabama State law. They could request an administrative hearing within 45 days of their arrest. They can also go to court to defend themselves against the DUI charges and avoid losing their license at all.

Learning more about Alabama’s DUI laws can help you take the right steps to defend yourself after a recent arrest.